Seasons not accurate in some places.

Everything related to SimElite Solutions Season Manager
Message
Author
Afterburner
newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 6:57 pm

Seasons not accurate in some places.

#1 Post by Afterburner » Sat Oct 12, 2019 1:34 pm

Hello,

I have recently purchased a one-month subscription of the season manager to give it a try. The idea of live seasons is very good, but the accuracy in some places currently leaves a lot to be desired. For example, I downloaded the current seasons package (as of Oct 12, 13:20 GMT) and placed my aircraft at ULLI (St. Petersburg, Russia). To my astonishment, there are patches of hard winter to the east and to the west of the airport (where it's still summer), as you can see on the top-view image in the attached file. Not only is it currently not snowy in the area (as of this writing, the temperature is +11 C in the area, and it is raining), but the sharp transition from summer (at the airport) to winter (to the east and to the west) is just not realistic. I don't know where the data comes from, but this is not what the season is in the real world. I found out that other parts of Eastern Europe also have alternating "sunny" and snowy season patches.

In this regard, I will go back to the P3D default seasons and wait until the accuracy is improved. Personally, I wish that alternatively to the live services, you would offer a "static" season package that is improved over the default seasons and that covers all months of the year. The current product not only seems to be inaccurate in some places, but the user cannot have proper season display during different times of the year.

I hope that the quality will be improved in the future.
Attachments
2019-10-12_21-14-31-573.jpeg
2019-10-12_21-14-31-573.jpeg (424.46 KiB) Viewed 4045 times

User avatar
victor.papa
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 12:00 am

Re: Seasons not accurate in some places.

#2 Post by victor.papa » Sat Oct 12, 2019 4:09 pm

Afterburner wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 1:34 pm
Hello,

I have recently purchased a one-month subscription of the season manager to give it a try. The idea of live seasons is very good, but the accuracy in some places currently leaves a lot to be desired. For example, I downloaded the current seasons package (as of Oct 12, 13:20 GMT) and placed my aircraft at ULLI (St. Petersburg, Russia). To my astonishment, there are patches of hard winter to the east and to the west of the airport (where it's still summer), as you can see on the top-view image in the attached file. Not only is it currently not snowy in the area (as of this writing, the temperature is +11 C in the area, and it is raining), but the sharp transition from summer (at the airport) to winter (to the east and to the west) is just not realistic. I don't know where the data comes from, but this is not what the season is in the real world. I found out that other parts of Eastern Europe also have alternating "sunny" and snowy season patches.

In this regard, I will go back to the P3D default seasons and wait until the accuracy is improved. Personally, I wish that alternatively to the live services, you would offer a "static" season package that is improved over the default seasons and that covers all months of the year. The current product not only seems to be inaccurate in some places, but the user cannot have proper season display during different times of the year.

I hope that the quality will be improved in the future.
Hi,
As you know this is a new product and new products always need improvements. At the moment we are using NASA earth data that captured by Satellite. Snow data comes on daily basis and if there is something wrong there, it should be wrong data from the source but as you said we are trying to improve the whole system by adding more sources of data to our system. If you live in St. Petetsburg could you please provide us what exactly the Season is over there right now? Did you have any snow fall in past days? Maybe NASA presented older data and it appears into our system like that.
You can also create your own Seasons in Manual mode if you think Season of a place is not right. Believe me our Seasons will be more better that default Prepar3D Seasons because as you know default Prepar3D Seasons changes on 1st of a month and it affected the whole area for example today whole Russia is Winter and tomorrow you can see anywhere is Snowy!
If you like we can use your help to adjust the Season for the region you live.
We will send you an email and talk about that later.

777-Pilot
newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2019 4:03 pm

Re: Seasons not accurate in some places.

#3 Post by 777-Pilot » Sat Oct 12, 2019 4:09 pm

I have the same problem unfortunately. This is a screenshot from Frankfurt, Germany taken with Live mode:
Image

For the time being, before this issue with live mode has been fixed, a height dependend winter feature for manual mode would be great (i.e.: if altitude of terrain is above X ft, insert season "winter", else insert season "summer"/"autumn")

Regards
David

User avatar
victor.papa
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 12:00 am

Re: Seasons not accurate in some places.

#4 Post by victor.papa » Sat Oct 12, 2019 4:38 pm

777-Pilot wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 4:09 pm
I have the same problem unfortunately. This is a screenshot from Frankfurt, Germany taken with Live mode:
Image

For the time being, before this issue with live mode has been fixed, a height dependend winter feature for manual mode would be great (i.e.: if altitude of terrain is above X ft, insert season "winter", else insert season "summer"/"autumn")

Regards
David
Thank you David for your report. I got the problem and reported it to the developer team. Good news is new fix regarding wrong Snow problem will be applied very soon if you check Live Mode Seasons tomorrow it will be better than today!
You and other friends please be in touch to solve any existing issues regarding Snow we have just like what we did in Time Zone Fixer before! ;)

User avatar
victor.papa
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 12:00 am

Re: Seasons not accurate in some places.

#5 Post by victor.papa » Sun Oct 13, 2019 3:28 pm

As I said yesterday, we changed our Season's data source and now we believe it is more accurate that before!
If you have ever used windy.com website probably know they have a good and accurate weather data. We didn't use their data because their data is not usable for us but at least we can match our final snow with their Snow Depth layer (not New Snow layer because it is not showing Snow cover on the ground) and check if it is working fine or not.
Please update your daily Seasons and let me know if it is working fine without those Snow patches in your area. ;)

spilok
newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 6:46 pm

Re: Seasons not accurate in some places.

#6 Post by spilok » Wed Jan 15, 2020 6:55 pm

For the most part, I'm liking Season Manager. I did a trial, and now I've subscribed to the program just 2 days ago. I've made sure that I read all instructions and I have activated it before flying each day.
I have made sure that Season Manager is at the top of my Scenery Library.

However, I still see snow at my home airport (KABE) and there is not a speck of snow outside the window for the past week or so. The snow persists for many miles before the greenery appears.
Maybe there is still something I'm doing wrong, since I've only been using the real program for a couple of days now.
ONE QUESTION:
After running the program at the beginning of the day, do I click on EXIT or do I click on the X after it has successfully loaded? Perhaps I should minimize the finished program to my taskbar for all my flights?

Any advice from experienced users would be appreciated.

Stan

User avatar
victor.papa
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 12:00 am

Re: Seasons not accurate in some places.

#7 Post by victor.papa » Wed Jan 15, 2020 8:22 pm

spilok wrote:
Wed Jan 15, 2020 6:55 pm
For the most part, I'm liking Season Manager. I did a trial, and now I've subscribed to the program just 2 days ago. I've made sure that I read all instructions and I have activated it before flying each day.
I have made sure that Season Manager is at the top of my Scenery Library.

However, I still see snow at my home airport (KABE) and there is not a speck of snow outside the window for the past week or so. The snow persists for many miles before the greenery appears.
Maybe there is still something I'm doing wrong, since I've only been using the real program for a couple of days now.
ONE QUESTION:
After running the program at the beginning of the day, do I click on EXIT or do I click on the X after it has successfully loaded? Perhaps I should minimize the finished program to my taskbar for all my flights?

Any advice from experienced users would be appreciated.

Stan
We will check your situation to see what is wrong and why you have Snow there. There isn't any Snow at KABE airport at the moment.
Do you have a photoreal KABE airport addon?
You should exit Season Manager after it has successfully loaded.

spilok
newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 6:46 pm

Re: Seasons not accurate in some places.

#8 Post by spilok » Thu Jan 16, 2020 12:36 am

Thank you for responding. No. I do not have any photoreal scenery at KABE. The snow extends quite far around the airport and I know that is not correct. It's been pretty warm here and we have not had any snow for as long as I can remember this year. We expect snow on Saturday, but of course, I'm curious as to why it's so snowy here when it shouldn't be.

Stan

User avatar
victor.papa
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 12:00 am

Re: Seasons not accurate in some places.

#9 Post by victor.papa » Thu Jan 16, 2020 5:24 pm

spilok wrote:
Thu Jan 16, 2020 12:36 am
Thank you for responding. No. I do not have any photoreal scenery at KABE. The snow extends quite far around the airport and I know that is not correct. It's been pretty warm here and we have not had any snow for as long as I can remember this year. We expect snow on Saturday, but of course, I'm curious as to why it's so snowy here when it shouldn't be.

Stan
OK, Thanks for the info. We will check that and let you know the result.

spilok
newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 6:46 pm

Re: Seasons not accurate in some places.

#10 Post by spilok » Thu Jan 16, 2020 7:17 pm

I look forward to your response and certainly hope you can correct the situation.

Thank you.

Stan

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests